IBNS 28th Annual Meeting

 Please join us for this must-attend event! 


June 23 - 27, 2019


Cairns Convention Centre
Cairns, Australia





(final program)


On this page:

Abstract Instructions Preliminary Schedule
Sponsors and Exhibitors
Accommodations/Hotels Printable/Shareable Flyers Symposia/Satellite Proposals
Keynote Speakers
Program Committee Travel Awards
Local Organizing Committee Registration Fees Visa/Passport/Travel


Keynote Speakers

Trevor W. Robbins, PhD
University of Cambridge

Presidential Lecture
"Neural substrates of compulsivity: Neuropsychiatric implications"
Wednesday, June 26, 8:30-9:30 am

Fiona Crawford, PhD
Roskamp Institute

"Clinical translation from preclinical models
of repetitive mild traumatic brain injury"
Monday, June 24, 8:30-9:30 am

Carol Barnes, PhD
University of Arizona

Keynote Speaker 
"Behavioral consequences of brain aging"
Tuesday, June 25, 8:30-9:30 am

Gavan McNally
Gavan P. McNally, PhD
University of New South Wales

Keynote Speaker
"Relapse and reward: Adventures in the ventral
striatopallidal system"
Thursday, June 27, 8:30-9:30 am

 Back to Top

Registration Fees

Interested in registering for the IBNS 28th Annual Meeting? Click here see fees, details, and register!

No registration fees will be refunded after May 1, 2019. Refund requests prior to May 1, 2019, will be subject to a $25 processing fee. Registration fees after April 2 will increase.

One (1) banquet ticket is included with your registration. You can purchase guest banquet tickets the during registration. 

Back to Top


If you're planning on attending the IBNS 28th Annual Meeting, you need to book your room in advance! There are several options with different price groups.

Click here to review all hotels offering an IBNS group rate. To assist those on a budget, we will offer a room-sharing option. 

Back to Top

Abstract Instructions

Click here to review Abstract instructions. Abstracts are being considered for poster presentation only and should be submitted by February 1, 2019.  The fee is $50 USD per abstract. Late abstracts will be considered until April 2.  Fee for late abstracts is $75 USD.  Payment is due at the time of submission.  

Don't forget to check the box on the abstract form to be entered into our COMPETITION for one of five special Augmented Reality posters.  Not familiar with AR? Check out the details!

Instructions for IBNS 2019 Poster Presentations:

  • Poster Board size (usable area): Boards will be 2.4m x 1.2m in landscape orientation (wide), this is approximately 4 feet x 8 feet. Posters can be any size, just not larger than the board.
  • Posters will need to be attached with push pins.  
  • Please plan to display your poster during the lunch or afternoon break on the day of your poster session.  All posters should be displayed no later than 16:00 (4:00 pm).
  • Poster presentation time is from 18:30-20:30 (6:30-8:30 pm) on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Please check your presentation date and poster number on the final program.
  • Poster presenters are required to be present in front of their poster during the poster session.
  • Please remove your poster promptly at 8:30 p.m. Posters left behind will be discarded.

Instructions for IBNS 2019 Oral Presentations:

  • Plenary/Keynote Speaker: 60 minutes (50 min for your presentation, 10 min for Q&A)
  • Symposium Speaker: 30 minutes (25 min for your presentation, 5 min for Q&A)  Note:  Some symposia have more/less speakers and the time has been adjusted accordingly.  See program for exact times.
  • Travel Award Blitz:  4 minutes (3 min for your presentation; 1 min for Q&A)  Note:  A three slide maximum is recommended. Your final slide should contain your poster title and numerical location so that additional questions and discussion can take place during the poster session.  

Data Submission:  

  • Oral presentations should be presented by PC and Projector only.
  • Please submit your presentation on a flash drive (USB) to the Chairperson of your session during the lunch break from in the room where your presentation takes place.  Your presentation will be pre-loaded to the conference laptop at which time you can review your slides.  Switching laptops between each talk will disrupt the schedule and is strongly discouraged. 
  • For Mac users, please be sure your presentation is compatible with a PC prior to your arrival
  • Please arrive at least 20 min prior to your presentation.
  • It is the duty of the Chairperson to stop a speaker who is going over his/her time limit. This is necessary to keep our very tight schedule on time.

 Back to Top 

Sponsors and Exhibitors

Thank you to the IBNS 2019 Sponsors.







 Back to Top 

Program Committee

Farida Sohrabji, (Chair), Texas A&M University Health Science Center, Bryan, TX, USA
Elizabeth Byrnes, (Co-Chair), Tufts University, North Grafton, MA, USA
F. Scott Hall, (Council Liaison), University of Toledo Health Science Center, Toledo, OH, USA
Cindy Barha, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Corina Bondi, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Verity Brown, University of St. Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom
Elena Choleris, (Past Chair), University of Guelph, Guelph, ON, Canada
Peter Kalivas, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC, USA
Amanda Kentner, MCPHS University, Boston, MA, USA
Yasushi Kiyokawa, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Back to Top

Local Organizing Committee - see their bios!

Stephen Kent (Chair) - La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia
Bernard Balleine - University of New South Wales, Kensington, Australia
Michael Bowen - University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
Timothy Bredy - University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Femke Buisman-Pijlman - University of Adelaide, Adelaide, Australia
Thomas Burne - University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Deborah Hodgson - University of Newcastle, Callaghan, Australia
Simon Killcross - University of New South Wales, Kensington, Australia
Karly Turner - University of New South Wales, Kensington, Australia
Zoltan Sarnyai - James Cook University, Townsville, Australia

Back to Top


Each participant is responsible for determining the visa/passport requirements for their own travel.  Please be aware that Australia requires either a Visa or ETA (Electronic Travel Authority) from all countries.  

An Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) provides authorization to travel to and enter Australia and is electronically linked to your passport.  It is for short term stays for tourism or business visitor activities such as attending a conference.  See https://www.eta.homeaffairs.gov.au/ETAS3/etas for details. The current cost is $20 AUD (approximately $14 USD) and can be easily applied for online. 

IBNS has partnered with American Airlines for 5% discount on published fares for travel from the USA to Australia.  Contact the American Airlines Meeting Services Desk at 1-800-433-1790 for assistance with reservations and ticket purchase OR book online at www.aa.com for AA/AE flights only.  For the IBNS discount, use the Authorization Code 6169GC.

 Back to Top

Travel Awards

Congratulations to the 2019 Travel Award Recipients!

Click here to view previous Travel Award winners.

Travel Award applicants are judged based on criteria specific to their level of training. In addition, travel costs will be taken into consideration in determining the final amount of the award. Travel Award recipients are required to present a poster as well as participate in a slide blitz session. Award recipients are required to attend the entire meeting. 

Back to Top 

Call for Symposia/Satellite Proposals

Click here to view the accepted Symposia that will be apart of the 2019 IBNS meeting.


Don't forget! The official 
IBNS Satellite AS4SAN Conference
is in Newcastle, Australia
June 17 - 19, 2019



We look forward to seeing you in Cairns, Australia!