Fellow Membership
Outstanding Achievement Award
Travel Awards
Best Poster Award
Early Career Achievement Award
Support Travel Awards


Fellow Membership

Fellows of IBNS are individuals who have made substantial contributions to the Society and to the field of behavioral neuroscience. Fellows in the Society will be invited annually to nominate IBNS members for consideration as Fellows of the Society. Any Fellow can nominate a prospective candidate by sending a nomination letter to the Nominations and Awards Committee. The letter should consist of the rationale for their nomination, an overview of their accomplishments in science and contribution to the Society, plus CV. From these materials (nomination letter and curriculum vita for each candidate), the Committee will review and recommend candidates for Fellow status to Council for final approval and election. The Committee can request more letters at their discretion. Click here to see the list of IBNS Fellows, 1992-present. Deadline for 2021 nominations is February 01, 2021.

2018 IBNS Fellows - Jonathan Brigman, Jodi Pawluski, and Jill Silverman
2019 IBNS Fellows - Corina Bondi and Elizabeth Byrnes
2020 IBNS Fellows - Karen Szumlinski, Stacey Rizzo, Jill McGaughy, and Andrew Holmes

 Back to Top

Outstanding Achievement Award

The recipient of this award is chosen by the Nominations and Awards Committee for outstanding professional achievement and consistent and long-standing contributions to the Society. The individual chosen for this award will receive recognition at the IBNS Annual Meeting, including a plaque, and will asked to give a short talk. Nominations should be sent to the Nominations and Awards Committee for consideration, and should include a nomination letter and a curriculum vita for the nominee. This letter should include a summary of their achievements in science as well as their contribution to the Society. Deadline for 2021 nominations is February 01, 2021.

2014 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Stefan Brudzynski
2016 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Stephen Kent
2017 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Yutaka Oomura
2018 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Kelly Lambert
2019 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Robert Gerlai
2020 Outstanding Achievement Award recipient - Mark Geyer

 Back to Top

Travel Awards

Congratulations to our 2020 Travel Award recipients!
Click here to view full list of all travel awardees, 2002-2019.

IBNS has a commitment to diversity and inclusion and welcomes undergraduates, graduates and postdocs from all geographic areas and backgrounds to apply for a 2021 travel award to assist with their travel expenses for IBNS 30th Annual meeting. Travel Award Applications are due by February 1, 2021.  

Click here to view the 2020 Travel Award winners.

Click here for complete details on Travel Awards 



Best Poster Award

Poster presenters submit their abstract on any subject related to the general area of behavioral neuroscience. The data must be original and not previously published. Winners are selected from three (3) categories: Undergraduate, Graduate, and PostDoc. In that order, previous winners include:

2014 Best Poster Award recipients - Mumeko Tsuda, Andrew Murtishaw, Cristina Banuelos, & Julianne Jett
2015 Best Poster Award recipients - Bruce Kennedy, Justin Botterill, Joseph McQuail, & Mouna Haidar
2016 Best Poster Award recipients - Emily Kirk, Richard O'Connor, Moria Braun, Robert Cole

2017 Best Poster Award recipients - Samantha Scarola, Kevin Hui, Evan Hart, Ana Luisa Terzian
2018 Best Poster Award recipients - Samantha Scarola, Christina Gobin, Joshua Haight
2019 Best Poster Award recipients - Danielle LeServe & Skylar Lambert, Leigh Walker, and Mariela Faykoo-Martinez  

 Back to Top

Early Career Award

Candidates for this award must be within seven years of receiving the Ph.D. and a member of the Society in good standing. There will be one award per year worth $500 USD plus a waiver for registration fees for the next IBNS conference. Further, the awardee will be asked to give 30-minute talk on their work. The deadline for 2021 nominations is February 01, 2021, and a nomination can be through an IBNS member or via self-nomination. The Nomination and Awards Committees will set detailed criteria for this award but both scientific excellence and contributions to the Society will be considered.

2017 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Sarah Baracz
2018 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Cindy Barha
2019 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Zackary Cope
2020 Early Career Achievement Award recipient - Millie Rincón-Cortés

Travel Award Support

The Student/PostDoc travel awards are an intregal part of the IBNS annual meeting, allowing qualifying student/postdoc members to attend and present their research. 100% of the donations are applied to the travel awards which help reduce the cost of attendance for the awardees.  Awards are given annually, require attendance and presentation of research at the meeting and are highly competitive.

IBNS is a qualified 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization and donations are tax-deductible. No goods or services will be provided for this gift. Please consult your tax advisor regarding specific questions about your deductions.

Help us increase the number of travel grants that IBNS can award! 

Your generosity will make a difference. 
Have a question or need help? Call 1-830-796-9393 or email [email protected].