IBNS 31st Annual Meeting

WHEN: June 7 - June 11, 2022
WHERE: Glasgow, Scotland

Social: #IBNSconnect


Call for Symposium Proposals
Deadline October 14, 2021

The International Behavioral Neuroscience Society (IBNS) was formed to encourage research and education in the field of behavioral neuroscience. Founded in 1992, IBNS has members from 34 different countries and consists of scientists, clinicians, teachers, and others with a background and interest in the relationship between brain and behavior. Annual meetings include renowned keynote speakers and multiple symposia.

We are pleased to announce that the IBNS Program Committee is now accepting proposals to develop an exciting program for the 2022 Annual Meeting, to be held June 7 - June 11, 2022, at Caledonian University in the heart of the energetic and historic city of Glasgow, Scotland. Symposia play a major role in shaping the IBNS annual meeting by focusing on timely, relevant and innovative research in the field of Behavioral Neuroscience. More information is provided below, so please share the Call with your friends and colleagues.

October 14, 2021 is the deadline for priority consideration of symposium.

A symposium includes four (4) speakers and is scheduled for two (2) hours. The time and date of symposia are set by the Program Committee. All symposium proposals should be submitted online and include:

  • Title
  • Name of the chairperson(s)
  • Substantive but succinct description of the topic and proposed talks (Limited to 4,400 characters, including spaces.)
  • List of four (4) speakers with affiliations and email addresses
  • Tentative talk titles
  • We welcome proposals using innovative formats (debate style, hands-on demonstration or workshop), for which the same 2-hour format will also be available

All proposals will be reviewed by the Program Committee and then submitted to the IBNS Council for consideration. Proposals that are not accommodated one year may be re-submitted the following year and will receive the same consideration as all other proposals.

Members and non-members of IBNS are invited to submit symposium proposals online using the link below.


Early career trainees (postdoctoral fellows/graduate students) are encouraged to submit symposium proposals together with senior investigators, to gain experience in organizing and co-chairing sessions as well as presenting their work alongside senior researchers in their field; a suggested format would be to include three (3) PIs and one (1) trainee in the panel. 

The International Society for Behavioral Neuroscience (IBNS) supports diversity in science. As such, we request that you include diversity information pertaining to your submission. Please recognize that diversity takes many forms, in terms of gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, nationality, professional seniority​, institution type, etc. The Program Committee will take this information into consideration when prioritizing symposia proposals. Please (briefly) provide justification if more than one presenter comes from the same institution ​or if the panel consists entirely of only one gender. The Chair will also be required to attest that none of the participants have previously been found guilty of behavior in conflict with the IBNS Code of Conduct. ​

*Please note that IBNS does not provide financial support to symposium speakers or organizers. Each organizer and speaker are expected to cover their own fees, including registration and abstract submission fees.

Click here to submit your symposium proposal


About Glasgow - Watch the video

Scotland’s most accessible destination, Glasgow has three international airports with direct flights from over 110 counties.  From museums to music, art to architecture, scenery to shopping; find out why Glasgow was named one of the Top 10 'Best Cities in the World' in 2019. For more about our host city visit https://peoplemakeglasgow.com today.

Meeting Venue: Caledonian University 
Located in the heart of the energetic and historic city of Glasgow


Stay tuned! More details to come...