Congratulations to the 2019 Travel Award Recipients!

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the IBNS Travel Awards for the 2019 meeting in Cairns, Queensland, Australia. Award winners will receive a cash award, certificate, and waiver of registration fees. Travel awardees are presenting orally and will also have their research presented in a poster session. Award recipients are required to attend the entire meeting. Congratulations to all!

2019 Travel Award Recipients (listed alphabetically):

Postdoctoral Awardees

Andrew Abela, Centre For Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada
Marley Kass, Columbia University, New York, New York, United States
Millie Rincon-Cortes, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Alexander Smith, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, New York, United States
Karly Turner, University of New South Wales, Buderim, Australia
Leigh Walker, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Melbourne, Australia
Samantha Yohn, Vanderbilt University, Ashland City, Tennessee, United States

Graduate Awardees

Kevin Braunscheidel, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC, United States
Briana Chen, Columbia University, New York, New York, United States
Katherine Drummond, Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health and University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia
Mariela Faykoo-Martinez, University of Toronto, Mississauga, Canada
Hannah Ihme, Philipps-University Marburg, Marburg, Germany
Johnny Kenton, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Saurabh Kokane, The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas, United States
Daphne Ling, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Stela Petkova, MIND Institute, University of California, Davis, Sacramento, California, United States
Jose Reyes, Universidad Central del Caribe, Arecibo, United States
Omar Sial, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, United States
Diana Sketriene, The Florey Institute, Melbourne, Australia
Elysia Sokolenko, University of Melbourne, Armadale, Australia
Maria Willadsen, Philipps-University of Marburg, Marburg, Germany

Undergraduate Awardee

Jonte Roberts, University of Colorado Denver, Aurora, Colorado, United States

Thorlabs Diversity Travel Awards

Ana Luisa Moreira, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Natal, Brazil
Jaquelinne Pinheiro da-Silva, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Natal, Brazil


Thank you to Thorlabs for the generous donation for funding travel awards for students traveling from Brazil to attend the 28th IBNS Conference!



We look forward to seeing you in Cairns, Australia!