IBNS Committees

IBNS is committed to furthering all fields of research related to Behavioral Neuroscience.  With the help of our members, we are impacting scientific endeavors all over the world!  However, we could not be successful without the efforts of our committee members who help to carry out the work of the society.  Are you interested in committee membership opportunities?  Would you like to serve as a leader in IBNS?  Visit IBNS Committee Member Opportunities to let us know more about your interests.


Education & Training Committee 

Sofiya Hupalo, Chair, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA 2023
Matthew McMurray, Co-Chair, Miami University, Oxford, OH, USA 2024
Matt Hale, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia 2023
Kyle Ploense, Cayuga Biotech Inc., Mount Vernon, NY, USA 2024
Abha Rajbhandari, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, NY, USA 2024
Wendy Wilson, Dickinson State University, Dickinson, ND, USA 2024
Molly Kent, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA, USA 2024
Laura Been, Haverford College, Haverford, PA, USA 2024
Fiona Hollis, University of South Carolina School of Medicine, Columbia, SC, USA 2025
Stacey Rizzo, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA 2025
Sharon Furtak, California State University Sacramento, Sacramento, CA, USA 2025
Jeremy McIntyre, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA 2025


Ethics and Diversity Committee 

Janine Kwapis, ChairPenn State University, University Park, PA, USA, 2023
Christian Bravo-Rivera, Co-ChairUniversity of Puerto Rico School of Medicine, San Juan, PR 2024
Nii Addy, Membership Committee Liason, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA  2023
Anand Gururajan, University of Sydney, Camperdown, Australia 2023
Carlos Bolanos, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA 2024
Martin Job, Rowan University, Camden, NJ, USA 2024
Erica Glasper, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, USA 2025
Karly Turner, University of New South Wales, Kensington, Australia 2025
Nicole Ferrara, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, N Chicago, IL, USA 2025
Madison Clement, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH, USA, 2025

Finance & Fundraising Committee

Jill Silverman, Chair, MIND Institute, UC Davis School of Medicine, Sacramento, CA, USA 2023
Mikhail Pletnikov, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, NY, USA 2024
Stefan Brudzynski, Auxiliary member, Brock University, St. Catharines, ON, Canada 2024
Carlos Bolanos, TreasurerTexas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA 2025 

Local Organizing Committee, Niagara Falls, Canada 2023

Jill McGaughy, IBNS President & Council Liaison,

Membership & Communications Committee 

Millie Rincón-Cortés, Chair, Univ. of Pittsburgh, PA, USA 2023
Travis Hodges, Co-Chair, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada 2024
Nii Addy, Diversity Committee Liaison, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA 2023
Peter Clark, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA 2024
Martin Job, Rowan University, Camden, NJ, USA 2024
Johnny Kenton, University of California San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA 2024
Christian Mueller, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany 2023
Agnieszka Potasiewicz, Polish Academy of Sciences, Krakow, Poland 2023
Communications/Social Media Team:
Candice Hatcher-Solis, Air Force Research Laboratory, Springboro, OH, USA 2025
Mohd Yaseen Malik, University of Oxford, United Kingdom 2025
Fabien Naneix, University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom 2025
Nawshaba Nawreen, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH, USA 2024
Haven Predale, Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine, Woodbury, NJ, USA 2025
Susanne Schmid, University of Western Ontario, Canada 2025
Anna Yotova, Goethe University Hospital, Frankfurt, Germany 2024
Lalithadevi Mallarapu, National Institute of Genetics, Mishima City, Japan, 2025

Nominations & Awards Committee 

Jill McGaughy, President, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH, USA 2023 
Robert Gerlai, University of Toronto Mississauga, Canada 2025
Stephen Kent, Diversity Committee Liaison, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia 2022
Mikhail Pletnikov, Univ. at Buffalo Sch. of Medicine and Bio. Sciences, Buffalo, NY, USA 2025
Wim Crusio, University of Bordeaux and CNRS, Pessac, France 2023
Anthony Kline, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA, USA 2025
Scott Hall, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH, USA 2024
Kelly Lambert, University of Richmond, Richmond, VA, USA 2025
Jared Young, Past-President, University of California, San Diego, CA, USA 2023
Byron Jones, University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Memphis, TN, USA 2025
Fair Vassoler, Co-Chair, Tufts University, Hopkinton, MA, USA, 2022
Elena Choleris, University of Guelph, Guelph, Ontario, Canada 2025

Program Committee 

Fair Vassoler, Chair, Tufts University, Hopkinton, MA, USA 2022
Markus Fendt, Co-ChairUniversity of Magdeburg, Magdeburg, Germany 2024
Molly Kent, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA, USA 2023
Anand Gururajan, Diversity Committee Liaison, University of Sydney, Camperdown, Australia 2023 
Barry Waterhouse, Rowan University Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Stratford, NJ, USA 2023
Gina Quirarte, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Queretaro, Mexico 2024
Carlos Bolanos Guzman, Diversity Committee Liaison, Texas A&M Univ., College Station, TX, USA 2024
Joseph McQuail, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA 2024
Sergio Iniguez, The University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso, TX, USA 2024 
John Christianson, Boston College, Chestnut, MA, USA 2024
Kumar Narayanan, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2025
Randy Bruno, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK, 2025
Maarten Van Den Buuse, La Trobe University, Melbourne,  VIC, Australia, 2025